Rich Lemon Syrup Cake

8 Jul

plated2

B posted her favourite go-to salmon meal. And I am not sure I have a go-to salmon recipe at all. I will have to try hers. It looked great.

I was reminded of this old go-to recipe by my friend Beth last week. I found it in our newspaper about fifteen years ago, when they re-printed the three most requested recipes (oh, remember the days before the internet?). I made it for my dad’s birthday and doubled the quantities, and mixed up my numbers, and managed to double double the butter. And IT WAS FANTASTIC. It is super rich, and seriously good, almost pudding like. I even made it for my brother’s 21st birthday cake, on a massive scale. I could barely lift it, and people loved it.

You will need…

ingredientsCakeingredients_syrup
For the cake: plain flour, baking powder, butter, caster sugar, milk, butter, lemon and eggs. And for the syrup, more lemon and sugar.

It is a simple method so I will list it in the recipe below, and the hardest part is creaming the butter, so if you have a KitchenAid you will be set.

______________________________________________________

Rich Lemon Syrup Cake
ingredients

cake:
250g (8oz) butter
1 1/4 cups caster sugar
grated rind of one lemon
3 tablespoons lemon juice
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/4 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup of milk

syrup:
2 tablespoons lemon juice
grated rind 1 lemon
1/4 cup caster sugar

Preheat oven to 185 (365F) degrees, and grease a 20cm baking tin, and line the base with non-stick baking paper.

Cream the butter and sugar, until light and fluffy. Add the lemon rind and juice, and mix through. Slowly add in the beaten eggs. Whisk together the flour and baking powder, and stir in to the mix, alternately with the milk.

Pour into the tin and bake in the 185 degree oven for 10 minutes, then turn down the oven to 170 (338F) degrees and cook for a further 45 minutes. Leave to cool for 10 minutes.

Put the syrup ingredients in to a saucepan and warm until the sugar has melted. Poke a few holes over the top of the cake with a skewer, and then spoon the syrup over the top.

Leave to cool… supervised.

ronnie

______________________________________________________

plated3

plated4

9 Responses to “Rich Lemon Syrup Cake”

  1. Karen 08/07/2013 at 5:01 pm #

    Holy yum. I knew immediately that I had to make this for a special occasion. Luckily, today is a special occasion (hey, it isn’t Monday every day!). I monkeyed a bit with the syrup and added a teaspoon of seedless raspberry jam because why not. I think my husband may love me even more than before he ate the cake.

    • Alice 09/07/2013 at 3:24 am #

      It is just brilliant that you made it the same day it was published. Glad you loved it.

  2. beth 09/07/2013 at 12:55 am #

    Just LOVE the photo of the cat…

    • Alice 09/07/2013 at 3:23 am #

      Little rascal that he is!

  3. Kevin 13/07/2013 at 3:08 am #

    OMG!! This sounds delicious.

    Here I sit with a tree full of sun ripened lemons wishing I had more ways to enjoy them and voila! You have given me a GREAT recipe to try. This tree is my grandmothers and I have been eating lemons from it for 50 years!!!

    just one slight squeeze and the juices bursts from the thin skin and runs down your arm. very sweet. I have been squeezing some juice over frozen grapes for a cold summertime treat.

    • Alice 13/07/2013 at 5:05 am #

      I hope you enjoy it Kevin, I reached over my fence to a tree next door for my lemons, they are massive, and have a thick skin.
      It is winter here in Australia, but I love your grape idea.

      • Alice 13/07/2013 at 6:04 pm #

        (this makes me sound thieving, full permission given! And the neighbours got cake in return.)

      • Kevin 13/07/2013 at 6:20 pm #

        It’s nice to share across a fence with neighbors. I gave mine firewood and they gave me a full size dummy.

  4. Brenda 15/07/2013 at 1:46 pm #

    I baked this cake last night and brought it into work. And let me tell you how incredibly delicious it is! It’s like the best parts of lemon bars, the rich buttery crust and the tart creamy lemon top all mixed into one delicious moist cake! I’m really glad I didn’t cut into it at home. It never would have made it into work.

Leave a Reply

