Crêpes with Kumquat Marmalade

21 May

Alice’s last post looked so great! I love Vietnamese food, but I am quite intimidated by all the ingredients and some of the unfamiliar cooking techniques. That dish, however, was absolutely something I could do. Thanks for showing me how entirely doable it is, Alice.

The pancakes in that last dish reminded me of crêpes. And I had a bag of beautiful kumquats that I picked up at the farmers market in San Francisco that I wanted to use.

Yes, I’m the person who gets on an airplane with a bag full of food. So I came up with my twist on the classic Crêpes Suzette – Crêpes with Kumquat Marmalade.

Kumquats are an interesting fruit, they are like teeny tiny little oranges, but you eat the whole fruit, peel and all. In fact, usually the peel is sweet and the inside of the fruit is a little tart. Perfect for marmalade. And really, they are just so cute!

First I washed and sliced up 30 kumquats

Then I added them to a medium saucepan, along with some sugar and water. I left the seeds in the pan, as I read that the seeds contain some pectin and help thicken the marmalade.

Brought the mixture to a boil

and reduced the heat to medium, so the marmalade stayed at a simmer

After 30 minutes or so, when the fruit had softened and the marmalade had thickened a bit, I scooped out the seeds

I let it cool a bit before spooning it into a clean jar that I had just run through the dishwasher to sanitize.

I cooked my marmalade too long, nearly an hour, so it was a bit too solid and would not be easily spread. So don’t cook it too long and do as I say and not as I do.

Once in a jar, the marmalade should keep for about a month in the fridge.

Then on to the crêpes.

I whisked together eggs, milk, flour, sugar and salt.

When that mixture was smooth, I added the water, oil and melted butter and let it sit in the fridge for about 20 minutes.

Then I heated my small cast iron skillet and melted a little butter in the pan.

So I thought this whole crêpe making process would be easy, as I’ve made many a crêpe with my Mom. Only the ones we make are with a cornmeal batter and after we form the crêpes, we fry them and fill them with meat, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, onions, etc for tacos. I’ll share that recipe sometime.

But back to the crêpes. I thought this would be easy. I know the technique, I have a nicely seasoned pan, which makes it nearly non-stick, so no problem. Well, unfortunately, I kept trying to flip the crêpe before it was fully cooked and ended up with the first two looking like a mound of scrambled eggs.

I took a slightly different tack. I rubbed oil into the pan with a paper towel, then added the crêpe batter, just about two to three tablespoons worth, with a small ladle. You just want to coat the bottom of the pan with the batter. Lift the pan off the heat, pour a little of the batter into one edge of the pan and rotate the pan so the batter coats the bottom completely. The pan shouldn’t be too hot either, just a medium heat is good.

Then let the crêpe sit in the pan until the edges start to crisp up and the bottom starts to solidify and easily lifts away from the pan. Flip it over, it should have light brown spots. I used a small spatula to flip mine but my Mom uses either a butter knife or fork to flip them over.

Let the other side cook for just a few seconds and pull it out of the pan. Lay the crêpe on a plate to cool for a minute or two while you get the next one going, then fold it in half, then in half again to make a triangle.

You can keep them warm in an oven at low heat, if desired.

Once the crêpes were all cooked, I melted some butter, added some of the marmalade, a splash of orange liqueur and heated it up.

I spooned it over the crêpes and voila!

It was rich, delicious and just a little tart.

Kumquat Marmalade
(inspired by a post by relishingit.com)

30 kumquats
1 1/2 cup sugar
1 cup water

Wash the kumquats and slice them as thin as you can, including the peelings and seeds.

In a medium sized heavy bottomed saucepan, add the sliced kumquats, sugar and water. Over medium-high heat, bring to a boil, stirring every few minutes. After it reaches a boil, turn the heat down to medium low and let simmer for about 30 minutes or until the fruit is tender. During that time, you can scoop out the seeds that will float to the top.

Once the kumquats are tender and the mixture has begun to thicken, turn off the heat and let it cool for a bit.

Scoop the slightly cooled marmalade into a pint sized jar that you have sanitized – I ran mine through the dishwasher. It will keep in the fridge for up to a month.

Crêpes
(for more tips on how to make perfect crepes, watch the amazing Jacques Pépin show you how)

2 large eggs
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup milk
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/3 cup cold water
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 tablespoon melted unsalted butter

Whisk together the eggs, flour, milk, salt and sugar. When the batter is smooth, add the water, oil and melted butter. Let it sit in the fridge, covered with plastic wrap for 20 minutes.

Heat a 6-inch crêpe pan or nonstick skillet and rub with a little butter or oil. Add two to three tablespoons of the batter and tilt the skillet to distribute the batter evenly, pouring any excess batter back into the bowl. Cook over medium heat until the edges of the crêpe curl up and start to brown. Flip the crêpe and cook for a few seconds longer, until a few brown spots appear on the bottom. Tap the crêpe out onto a plate to cool. Repeat with the remaining batter, oiling the skillet a few times as necessary.

When you have finished making all the crêpes, fold them in half and in half again, making little triangles. Keep warm in low oven.

Well, Alice, I hope I’ve succeeded in making you hungry. Where are we going next??

5 Responses to “Crêpes with Kumquat Marmalade”

  1. Karen 22/05/2012 at 3:28 am #

    Now that looks delicious and might even be something I might try with my much more limited cooking skills !!

  2. pnutski 27/06/2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Another silly question but if I have some marmalade already – would I just add some of that to a pan with some butter and a splash of something (not sure what something to use)?

    • Brenda 27/06/2012 at 1:00 pm #

      Yes, heat it up with a little butter and a splash of cognac/brandy/triple sec or just some orange juice to thin it out a little bit. Just to bring it to a drizzle-able consistency.

      Good luck!

      • pnutski 29/06/2012 at 1:59 am #

        Ok glad you said OJ – I dont drink so wouldnt have any of the alcohol to use 🙂

  3. Kathy 12/07/2012 at 8:55 pm #

    This looks great! I actually have kumquat marmalade that I made last year…..need to use it up!

Leave a Reply

