Cauliflower, silverbeet and goat’s cheese pies

1 Oct

B’s savoury cake…. reminded me of savoury muffins… and then…..

The other day, my good friend Beth dropped over a huge bunch of silverbeet (chard) that she had grown, and a large piece of goats cheese, and then emailed me this recipe. Talk about spoiled rotten! I absolutely love the way she has written it out, so I am posting it just as she sent it.

I made it in a muffin pan, I thought this was a perfect thing to keep already portioned in the fridge, ready for a quick-to-make lunch, dinner or even breakfast. Full of veggies, eggs… and OK, a bit of cheese, and oh so very tasty.

This is the email…


Must….stop….eating….long….enough…to…type….this…
 
Crust
2 heaped cups of cooked brown rice (must be cold)
¼ cup finely grated grana padano 
1 big egg
 
Filling
1 cup milk
4 eggs
1 cup roasted cauliflower (did mine under the gorilla with some evo and finished with truffle oil… arghh, drool)
1 large onion, caramelized
1 cup of fresh goat’s cheese, crumbled
1 cup of sautéed silverbeet
fresh thyme
salt and pepper (I am of the firm opinion that eggs need a GOOD amount of salt)

Okee dokee

1
Mix all of filling stuff together and have ready to go.

2
Mix crust stuff and press into a fluted flan – mine is 22cm dia and 4.5 cm deep with a loose base.

This step must be done thoroughly, otherwise leakage will occur!!!

Bake in a screamingly hot oven for 9 minutes, then take out of the oven and leave the oven door open.

Add filling mix immediately, return to oven, turn down to 170 degrees and bake for somewhere between 30 – 40 minutes.

3
Try not to eat all of it in one sitting.

 
Honestly, I adapted from a broccoli and spring onion version I found on the interwebs, using what I had in the fridge, so it clearly lends itself to bastardisation 
Ciao!
 
B xx

Isn’t she awesome?

A bit of translation may be needed:
In Beth and Alice speak, a gorilla is a griller, or a broiler for you Americans. And, being ornery, I roasted my cauliflower instead.
Evo, is extra virgin olive oil.

I steamed my silverbeet, as I love it steamed. You could do either.



I used a muffin tin, as I don’t have a fluted pan, but also… nice and easy to package them up in the fridge or even freezer in that size.
Grana Padano is similar to Parmesan.
170 degrees C is 340 degrees F

It is an unfussy meal, which is worthy of a much better photo than I have taken here. Even though it is full of veggies, it would actually go well with some leafy green, or tomato salad served beside it.

Wonder how long I can hold out before I make another batch. I am tipping not long. Thank you for the recipe Bethois. Over to you B!

2 Responses to “Cauliflower, silverbeet and goat’s cheese pies”

  1. bethanie 05/10/2012 at 12:01 am #

    Nice work! Great idea to do singles, which I am thinking would also be perfect for a picnic!
    B x

    • Alice 11/10/2012 at 3:57 am #

      Thank you for the recipe. It is fab. FAB I tell you!

Leave a Reply

