Chilled Cucumber and Dill Soup with Smoked Trout

6 Sep

After reading Alice’s gorgeous post last week, the soup just carried me along. It’s WAY too hot here right now to make any sort of hot soup but a chilled soup? Sign me up! Also, being the end of summer here, most of my friends with vegetable gardens have an excess of cucumbers. How timely!

This soup is cool and refreshing with a pop of crunchy salad on top and a nice smokey trout.

Chop up some onion and garlic and toss them in a skillet with a little olive oil. Add some fennel seeds if you like them. I’m not a huge fan of fennel, so I skipped this ingredient.

Saute the onions and garlic for a few minutes until the onions are soft.

While this mixture is softening, begin peeling the cucumbers.

Be sure to remove the seeds from the cukes or use English cucumbers, as they are virtually seedless. The English cucumbers can be found wrapped in plastic at the grocery store.

I used regular cucumbers, because they are in season and can be found EVERYwhere.

Combine the greek yogurt, coarsely chopped cucumbers, softened onion mixture and fresh dill in a food processor

Whiz it up until it’s smooth (check out my vintage food processor which I overfilled a bit – messy!)

Chill the soup while you make the salad. Finely slice some cucumber and radishes. Toss with the sugar, vinegar, dill, salt and pepper.

Ladle some of the soup into a bowl, top with some flaked smoked trout and the salad and serve…

With a sliced toasted bagel, while sitting outdoors and listening to the evening bird calls.

Are you hungry, Alice??

Chilled cucumber and dill soup with smoked trout

Based on this recipe
Serves 4

1/2 tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds (optional)
4 cucumbers, peeled, seeded and coarsely chopped
1 cup thick Greek-style yogurt
1/2 cup dill sprigs

Pickled cucumber and radish salad:
1 cucumber, thinly sliced
2 radishes, thinly sliced
1-2 dill sprigs
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 teaspoon sugar

6 ounces smoked trout, flaked
2 bagels, thinly sliced and toasted

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat, add garlic, onion and fennel seeds (if using) and cook for three minutes or until onion softens. Transfer onion mixture to a food processor, add cucumber, yogurt and dill, process until smooth, season to taste with salt and pepper, then refrigerate.

Meanwhile for salad, combine ingredients and two teaspoons of sea salt in a bowl, toss to combine, let stand for 10 minutes, then drain.

To serve, ladle soup into bowls, top with salad and trout and serve with bagel slices.

5 Responses to “Chilled Cucumber and Dill Soup with Smoked Trout”

  1. Alice 06/09/2012 at 7:47 pm #

    This makes me so hungry.

  2. Jan 06/09/2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Just the recipe I was looking for. I have tons of cukes.

  3. Rachel 06/09/2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Yum! I love smoked trout, this is a great use of it. Also, I luuuurve fennel. In Italian it’s called finocchio and I giggle every time my nonna says it. I especially love it roasted, have you tried it like that?

    • Brenda 08/09/2012 at 12:19 am #

      I like fresh fennel, but I dislike the seeds for some reason. Next time I’ll try it, if only just to say the name in Italian!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smoked Trout ‘Rillette’ « The A to B of Cooking - 16/09/2012

    […] Chilled Cucumber Soup is making me look forward to warmer weather. Well, that and bare feet around the […]

Leave a Reply

