Bernice’s Cheese Crackers

27 Mar

B’s Mac and Cheese takes me back to my childhood. It feels like my grandmother always had macaroni cheese in the oven when we arrived at her house, as it was my older sister’s favourite dish. Complete and utter comfort food. Yum.

B was just describing to me how much her young niece and nephew love these cheese crackers, to the point where her mother Bernice bakes them as a special treat whenever she visits the kids.


They are pretty easy to make too.


You’ll need… yellow cheeses, butter, plain flour, sea salt, and chives (or even spring onion if you have no chives).

I grated the cheese, I had parmesan and cheddar on hand. I then chopped my spring onion finely.


I put all of the ingredients in to a blender…


and blended until well mixed.

I then rolled the mixture in to largish walnut sized balls, and squashed them flat with my hands, I Ā flattened them further with a fork on the baking tray. B says she squishes them well and good with a flour dusted base of a glass to make them even thinner, before she flattens them more with the fork. Next time I’ll give that a go, I imagine they would be super crispy.

I sprinkled each cracker with some sea salt and set them in to the oven.

I baked them for around 15 minutes, until they were lovely and light brown underneath.

They were perfect with a glass of white wine before dinner.

I’d ask where you are going to take us next B, but I know already.

Just the other day, B and I spent hours cooking together with super cook Karen Gay in my parent’s Melbourne kitchen. We’d love to fill you in on the favourites we made, the dish Karen invented, and all the chopping and mixing we laughed over.

______________________________________________________

BERNICE’S CHEESE CRACKERS

ingredients
1 1/2 cups of plain flour
1/2 tsp salt, plus sea salt to sprinkle over crackers
1/2 cup butter
1 tbsp chopped chives
2 cups (250g) grated cheese, you can use any mix of cheeses.

Mix all together in food processor until completely combined.

Roll in to small balls, then flatten with your hands. Place on baking tray and then flatten further with a fork. To get an even thinner cracker you flatten the dough first with the base of a glass which dunked in flour, and then use a fork to flatten further.

Sprinkle with sea salt and bake at 350F (180C) for 12-15 min or until very lightly browned.

Remove to cooling rack. Try to resist them, I dare you.

Leave a Reply

